Fiber Society Officers

Takeshi Kikutani, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Caroline Schauer, Drexel University

Janice R. Gerde, US Custom & Border Protection

Ian Hardin, University of Georgia

Join us on FacebookJoin us On Linked In

Member News

-NEW Fiber Society contact information

- Other Conferences of Interest

- Journal of Engineered Fibers and Fabrics

- A reminder:  The Fiber Society is now included in ASTM Committee D 13 on Textiles “Related Links” list []  ASTM Committee D13 was formed in 1914 and currently comprises 561 members.  The group has jurisdiction over 364 standards, which are published in the “Annual Book of ASTM Standards,” Volumes 7.01 and 7.02.


The Fiber Society

Fall 2020 Conference

Dear Fiber Society Members,

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to negatively affect our world communities, we find ourselves in the regrettable position of having to cancel The Fiber Society’s Fall 2020 Conference, scheduled for October 19-21 at Drexel University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA. The continually evolving and unpredictable nature of the coronavirus seriously impacts our plans and hopes for future conferences. We will keep you informed regarding our 2021 conferences with timely posts on our website, our social media pages (Facebook and LinkedIn), and other avenues deemed appropriate.

Undoubtedly, life will return to “normal,” but we can only wait until that time arrives. We remain hopeful that we will meet next spring in Leuven, Belgium, at the College de Valk. We remain hopeful that we will once again meet as colleagues and friends to renew our relationships, professionally and personally.

The Fiber Society Officers and Governing Council send best wishes to our members and colleagues around the world as we navigate these unprecedented times together. Please stay safe and well!

Takeshi Kikutani, President
The Fiber Society

Current Award Recipients

We are delighted to announce The Fiber Society’s 2018 Awards
presented at the
University of California Davis Conference, 29 to 31 October

Distinguished Service Award
*Subhash K. Batra, North Carolina State University

Founder’s Award
*Konstantin Kornev, Clemson University

Distinguished Achievement Award
*Dong Wang, Wuhan Textile University

Graduate Student Paper Competition Winners

First Place—Tie
·Xiangchen Liu, University of California-Davis:  Amphiphilic and Semi-crystalline Soy Protein Microfibrils from Aqueous Colloids
·Hongyan Wu, Donghua University:  Ultralight, Highly Resilient, and Flexible Electrospun Nanofibrous Aerogels for Effective Warmth Retention

Second Place
·Yusuke Mukai, North Carolina State University:  Effect of Fabric Construction, Thread Count,
and Solid Volume Fraction on the Dielectric Properties of Cotton Fabrics

Poster Competition Winners

First Place·Peixin Tang, University of California, Davis:  Development of Highly Sensitive
and Personal-used Colorimetric Sensors of Gaseous Pesticides on Fiber-based Materials

Second Place
·David Seveno, Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven:  Wettability and Adhesion of Thermoplastics in Glass Fiber-reinforced Model Composites

Third Place
·Yuan Yu, Jiangnan University:  Highly Fluorescent Luminescent Carbonized Polymer Dots Prepared via a Stabilizer-free Dispersion Synthesis Method

Congratulations to All!